Skip to main content

Inside Look

Welcome new Adjunct Instructors Margaret Proctor & Ela Morelock

The Department of Languages, Cultures, and Humanities welcomes Margaret Proctor (SPA)  and Dr. Ela Morelock (SPA) this Fall 2014!

Dr. Dorothy Carter's Summer Adventure at Oxford University

 This summer of 2014, retired EKU faculty member Dr. Dorothy Carter participated in a study program at Merton College, Oxford University, studying “Medieval Monasteries and Cathedrals”  Read about her experiences here.

Welcome new Adjunct Instructors!

The Department of Languages, Cultures, and Humanities welcomes Dr. Gregory Conley (CHU), Dr. Ela Morelock (SPA), Noriko Okura (JPN), and Fabricio Silva (SPA) this Fall 2014!

CHINESE 101 offered for the 1st time

The Department of Languages, Cultures, and Humanities is holding Conversational Chinese I for the first time this Fall 2014 semester.  Listed as FLS 101, Chinese language and cultures course is scheduled for Mondays/Wednesdays/Fridays from 9:05 am to 9:55 am by Dr. Michael Rich.

Seven students receive the 2013-2014 FRLH Award of Excellence

Congratulations to the Recipients! 

The awards were presented at the annual FRLH Student Success Recognition Picnic on April 23, 2014.

Congratulations to the 54 FRLH graduates in 2013-2014

Congratulations to the 2013-2014 Graduates!


Fall 2013

  • Jeremy Cox, B.A.
  • Braunwyn Griffith, B.A.
  • Steven Harrison, B.A.
  • Margaret Hale, B.A.

Spring 2014

Dr. Wright honored for service at 2014 EKU Employee Recognition Luncheon

Dr. Neil Wright, Professor of Humanities was honored April 17th at the 2014 Employee Recognition Luncheon.  Dr. Wright was recognized for having taught at EKU for 30 years.  Congratulations!!

Congratulations to Manuel Cortés-Castañeda and C. Michael Rich, nominnees for 2013-2014 Critical Thinking Teacher of the Year!

Congratulations to Manuel Cortés-Castañeda (Spanish Studies) and Christopher Michael Rich (Japanese Studies) for being nominated for the 2013-2014 Citical Thinking Teacher of the Year!!

Dr. Neil Wright essay selected for KY Philological Association Best for Panel 2014

Congratulations to Dr. Neil Wright, Professor of Humanities!   

Alpha Mu Gamma National Collegiate Foreign Language Honor Society Initiates 6 new members

Congratulations to the 2013-2014 Alpha Mu Gamma Members!

 Student Memberships:

  • Ashley Sullivan
  • Maitland Dunwoody
  • Claire Sketch
  • Emily Skanes

Honorary Memberships:

  • Dr. Robert "Pierre" Brubaker

Faculty Memberships:

  • Dr. Abbey Poffenberger
Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/