People

Dr. Abbey Poffenberger

Dr. Abbey Poffenberger
  • Dept. Chair, Associate Professor of Spanish
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 114
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: abbey.poffenberger@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-2996
  • Office Hours: By appointment

Dr. Javier Alvarez-Jaimes

Dr. Javier Alvarez-Jaimes
  • Assistant Professor of Spanish
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower C, Room 221
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, Room 115
  • Email: Javier.Alvarez@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-1467
  • Expert Areas: Research: Contemporary Latin American literature, film, journalism and culture, popular culture, urban studies, cultural geography, spatial theory, eco-criticism, theories of representation, subaltern studies, geopolitics. Creative: Visual and Studio Arts, painting, drawing, illustrating, mural, graffiti.

Dr. Leslie Blacksberg

Dr. Leslie Blacksberg
  • Adjunct Instructor of Humanities
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: University Building Room 136
  • Mailing Address: University Building Room 137
  • Email: Leslie.Blacksberg@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-2924,-859-622-2996

Julia Cilona

Julia Cilona
  • Adjunct Professor of Spanish, E-Campus
  • Department: Dept. of Languages, Cultures, and Humanities
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Julia.Cilona@eku.edu

Dr. Gregory Conley

Dr. Gregory Conley
  • Adjunct Instructor of Humanities
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 216
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Gregory.Conley@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-2996
  • Expert Areas: Victorian Literature; Science Fiction/Fantasy/Horror

Stacia Cook-McCoy

Stacia Cook-McCoy
  • Administrative Assistant
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Stacia.Cook-McCoy@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-2996
  • Office Hours: Mon-Friday - 8 am to 12 noon, 1 pm to 4:30 pm

Manuel Cortés-Castañeda

Manuel Cortés-Castañeda
  • Associate Professor of Spanish, Spanish Studies Program Coordinator, Advisor
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 215
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Manuel.Cortes-Castaneda@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-1536
  • Office Hours: M W F 9:00-10:00 12:00-1:00 TR 11:00-12:20

Dr. Eba Creel

Dr. Eba Creel
  • Assistant Professor of Spanish
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower B, room 219
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Eba.Creel@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-1001

Dr. Karl Theodor Langenbruch

Dr. Karl Theodor Langenbruch
  • Professor of German, Humanities, & Latin (retired)
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 216
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Theodor.Langenbruch@eku.edu

Dr. Lily Li

Dr. Lily Li
  • Adjunct Instructor of Humanities
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower C, room 122
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Lily.Li@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-2996
  • Expert Areas: Chinese / diasporic Chinese literature and film; Asian / Asian American Literature and film; East- West comparative literature

Dr. Erik Liddell

Dr. Erik Liddell
  • Associate Professor of Humanities, Advisor
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower B, room 217
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Erik.Liddell@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-2267

  •  

Philip Limerick

Philip Limerick
  • Adjunct Instructor of Spanish
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower C, room 224
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Philip.Limerick@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-2996

Dr. Marianella Machado-Echezuria

Dr. Machado-Echezuria
  • Associate Professor of Spanish, Advisor
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower B, room 117
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Marianella.Machado@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-1468
  • Office Hours: ON LEAVE-OF-ABSENCE

Melony Martínez

Melony Martínez
  • Adjunct Instructor of Spanish
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower C, room 224
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Melony.Martinez@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-2996
  • Expert Areas: Linguistics, Interpreting and Translation

Dr. Ela Molina-Morelock

Dr. Ela Molina-Morelock
  • Adjunct Instructor of Spanish
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower C, room 224
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Ela.Morelock@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-2996
  • Expert Areas: Hispanic Contemporary Culture and Literature. Cultural Studies, Interdisciplinary and Transatlantic Studies and Theories; Gender, Race, Ethnic, and Film/Visual Studies; Sociolinguistics

Dr. Randi Polk

Dr. Randi Polk
  • Assistant Professor of French, French/German/Latin/Japanese Studies Coordinator, Advisor
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 214
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Randi.Polk@eku.edu

Dr. C. Michael Rich

Dr. C. Michael Rich
  • Assistant Professor of Japanese & Chinese, Advisor
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower C, room 223
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Christopher.Rich@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-2255
  • Office Hours: MWF 1:15-2:15 TR 2:00-3:00
  • Expert Areas: Chinese and Japanese languages and literatures, noh theatre performance, kendo, kyudo

Ginny Van Horn

Ginny Van Horn
  • Adjunct Instructor of Latin
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower C, room 224
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Ginny.VanHorn@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-2996

Dr. José "Pepe" Varela-Ibarra

Dr. José "Pepe" Varela-Ibarra
  • Professor of Spanish
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower C, room 123
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Jose.Varela@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-1006

Amanda Wangler

Amanda Wangler
  • Adjunct Instructor of German
  • Department: Dept. of Languages, Cultures, and Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower C, Room 224
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Amanda.Wangler@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-1004

Dr. Rachel Williams

Dr. Rachel Williams
  • Assistant Professor of French, Advisor
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower B, room 218
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Rachel.Williams@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-1002

Dr. Neil Wright

Dr. Neil Wright
  • Professor of Humanities, Comparative Humanities Program Coordinator, Advisor
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower C, room 122
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: neil.wright@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-6360

Dr. Socorro Zaragoza

Dr. Socorro Zaragoza
  • Associate Professor of Spanish, Advisor
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Office: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 213
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: socorro.zaragoza@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-6435
  • Office Hours: MWF 10:00-11:00 T TH 11:00-12:00

Dr. Dorothy Carter

Dr. Dorothy Carter
  • Retired Associate Professor of French
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Mailing Address: McCrearyHall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Dorothy.Carter@eku.edu

Dr. Rebecca King

Dr. Rebecca King
  • Retired Associate Professor of French
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Rebecca.King@eku.edu

Dr. Un-Chol Shin

Dr. Un-Chol Shin
  • Retired Professor Emeritus
  • Department: Languages, Cultures, & Humanities
  • Mailing Address: McCreary Hall, Tower A, room 115
  • Email: Un.Shin@eku.edu
  • Phone: 859-622-2996
Open